I hate taking the kids to the pediatrician! We love our group of pediatricians and nurse practitioners, but they are usually running behind. Well child checks with the twins takes a minimum of two hours. Today I had to take the little man in because he was on day three of a fever over 102 and had developed a wicked rash. I highly suspected it was just a virus, (Roseola, or Hand, Foot and Mouth), but the boy was miserable so like any parent would, I dragged him into the doctor to make sure it was nothing else. I pulled in, and there was only one other car in the parking lot. Great, I thought to myself we will be in and out quickly.
Not so fast. We were called back before I even had time to sit down after checking in, which again was a good sign. Instead we waited nearly 25 minutes in our little room before the ARNP came in. I am usually pretty good at entertaining the little ones with minimal resources so we spent the time playing with the exam table paper, throwing a paper towel in the air, playing with the blinds on the window and examining different equipment in the room (tongue depressor, otoscope covers and emesis basins). It worked for a while and then I turned to singing, but after a few rounds of "Wheels on the Bus," Caleb was ready to get off the bus.
To make sure he didn't have a bacterial infection, he had to have a complete blood count checked, which meant a finger poke. He was such a trooper and barely whimpered during the process, but was pretty annoyed about the Dora band-aid he had on his left middle finger, and kept trying to shake it off. Well, everything came back OK and he was diagnosed with a virus, likely a coxsackie virus. Now what's difficult about having twins, is you know the other one is bound to get sick too...it's going to be a long week!
No comments:
Post a Comment